Town of Southwark is a part of the London Borough of Southwark and a district in Central London that is located on the banks of the River Thames. It’s amongst the oldest areas that the London was built upon. Southwark is built in the location that was formerly a marsh with many islands on the Thames River. The town is most famous by its record of having Britain’s first self-service petrol station.